Agenda and minutes

Extraordinary Meeting, Council - Wednesday, 6th December, 2017 6.00 pm, NEW

Not all meetings are broadcast. The meetings that will be broadcast are as follows: (a) Council; (b) Cabinet; (c) Dover Joint Transportation Advisory Board; (d) General Purposes Committee; (e) Electoral Matters Committee; (f) Governance Committee; (g) Planning Committee; and (h) Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

For those meetings that are being broadcast there will be a link to view the live broadcast under the ‘Media’ heading below. Only those items not restricted on the agenda will be broadcast.

Guidance on how to watch live broadcasts of meetings.

The link to view a recording of a meeting that was broadcast can be found on the Council’s YouTube channel (@doverdc)

Venue: Council Chamber - Council Offices. View directions

Contact: Rebecca Brough  Democratic Services Manager

No. Item



To receive any apologies for absence.


Apologies for absence were received from Councillors P M Brivio, G Cowan, A Friend, B Gardner, J M Heron, S J Jones, S C Manion, A M Napier, D A Sargent, P Walker and P M Wallace.


Declarations of Interest pdf icon PDF 37 KB

To receive any declarations of interest from Members in respect of business to be transacted on the agenda.


There were no declarations of interest made by Members.



To receive any announcements from the Chairman, Leader, Members of the Cabinet or Head of Paid Service.


The Chairman of the Council, Councillor S S Chandler, made the following announcements:


(a)  St Margaret’s-at-Cliffe By-Election


The Chairman welcomed Councillor P D Jull to the Council following his election in the by-election held on 23 November 2017 in the St Margaret’s-at-Cliffe Ward arising from the resignation of Councillor P A Watkins.


(b)  Death of former District Councillor G Allt


The Chairman announced the sad news of the death of former Councillor George Allt. He had served on the Council from 1979 - 1983 representing the Priory Ward, 1997 – 2003 representing the Barton Ward and 2003 – 2007 representing the Buckland Ward. He was also a former Mayor of Dover.


The Chairman invited members to share their memories of him.


The Council stood in silence as a mark of respect.



To consider the attached report of the Director of Governance.

Additional documents:


The Chairman of the Council introduced the agenda item.


It was moved by Councillor K E Morris, and duly seconded by Councillor F J W Scales, that the Council recommend a Council Size of 32 councillors to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.


It was proposed that a Council size of 32 councillors would:


·         Provide flexibility

·         Not make significant additional burdens to Members’ workloads by maintaining an average of less than 2 committee seats per councillor

·         Maintain the necessary and useful scrutiny function through either one or two scrutiny committees

·         Recognised the changes in the methods that the community used to access council services directly had an impact on member workloads

·         Provided for a comparable ratio of electors to councillors to that currently in Canterbury City Council and Shepway District Council


It was moved by Councillor M R Eddy, and duly seconded by Councillor S F Bannister, that the Council recommend a Council Size of 37 councillors to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.


It was proposed that a Council Size of 37 councillors would:


·         Provide for a full level of scrutiny

·         Ensure wards with significant levels of deprivation could continue to be represented effectively

·         That any reduction from 45 councillors would increase the workload on members

·         Allow the Council to deal with the impact of BREXIT

·         That the comparison with Canterbury City Council and Shepway District Council was not appropriate


On being put to the meeting it was


RESOLVED:  (a)     That a Council Size of 32 Councillors be submitted to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England as the Council’s preferred Council Size.


                        (b)     That the Chief Executive be authorised to make the submission on behalf of the Council to the Local Government Boundary Commission for England in accordance with the Council’s agreed Council Size number.



Six members present requested that a recorded vote be held in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 18.4. The manner of the voting was as followed:


FOR - Council Size of 32 (22)

FOR – Council Size of 37 (10)


J S Back

S F Bannister


T J Bartlett

M I Cosin


P M Beresford

M R Eddy


T A Bond

B J Glayzer


B W Butcher

P J Hawkins


P I Carter

L A Keen


S S Chandler

K Mills


N J Collor

A S Pollitt


M D Conolly

G Rapley


R J Frost

N A G Richards


D Hannent



P G Heath



M J Holloway



P D Jull



N S Kenton



P S Le Chevalier



S M Le Chevalier



K E Morris



D P Murphy



M J Ovenden



M Rose



F J W Scales





Urgent Business Time

To consider any other items deemed by the Chairman of the Council to be urgent in accordance with the Local Government Act 1972.


There were no items of urgent business for consideration.